It is more important for schoolchildren to learn local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there are many people who think that it is more crucial for young people to learn international history than their local history. From my perspective, there are several benefits for them to learn more history around the world including gaining knowledge about culture and traditions or also helping them to understand the importance of history. However, local history is still essential because they need to know the hardship though their mind can respect ancestors and appreciate their country.

Admittedly, there are some various benefits when they learn world history. First, educating about world history is believed to equalize learning new things opportunities among young adolescents regardless of their family background. This world history support, presumably, tends not only to increase the overall awareness of students about appreciating other countries that help their country but also to mitigate their feeling inferior when they travel abroad or travel to other countries. In addition, knowing about world history would help them to make new friends on social media and boost the international relationship between homelands, thereby adding great benefits for sustainability development. Second, learning about world history would result in a higher supply of highly qualified workers, who know about the culture and tradition of open-minded people, which benefits society in the long run. For example, there are many countries such as Japan and China. Vietnam always teaches their students to know about world war or world history so that they can learn new knowledge and respect other countries. In fact, it is acknowledged that knowledgeable and skilled human capital is imperative to foster economic growth and technological development in any nation.

On the other hand, I suppose local history is still crucial. From one standpoint, everyone from every age group should know about their country, the hardship in the past so that they can appreciate their ancestors. In addition, gaining knowledge about local history would help them to respect their country and know what happened in the hundreds of years. Second, educating the schoolchildren about that would increase the awareness of low-income people and also protect their country in the future. For instance, Vietnam is not the wealthiest country but they are always teaching both things including local and national history, which promotes an egalitarian society. Instead, would be a more educated viable option if the resources were focused on supporting less privileged yet gifted people if they do not have funding to go to school.

In conclusion, despite the long-term benefits of world history, all young children should learn about their country to help developing nations. From my point of view, governments, especially schools, should consider educating together to become a better society.