Only government action can solve housing shortages in big cities. To what extent do you agrre or disagree?

Homelessness in large cities has become a serious issue, leading some to believe that only governments can address this problem. T disagree with this statement as I believe that even if the government may have a primary role in solving this issue, others can also contribute significantly to tackling the problem.

Government action is indeed essential to resolve the shortage of houses in major cities. One way in which this is achieved is by having the legal power to ensure fair practices in the housing market and promote responsible development. For instance, they can levy higher taxes on the ownership of multiple properties, which discourages such practices and this leaves more affordable houses for lower-income residents. Additionally, the government can implement measures to increase the supply of affordable housing. For example, they can enact zoning laws to encourage development and finance the reconstruction of affordable homes.

Nevertheless, I believe that the complexity needs collaboration among multiple stakeholders, particularly private entities and non-profit organizations. Regarding the former, the private sector has resources that can be needed to manage the construction of affordable housing projects. Thus, with appropriate incentives such as tax breaks or expedited permit processes, the government can involve private corporations in addressing housing shortages.

In conclusion, while the government may play a central role in tackling homelessness in large urban areas, I disagree with the view that no other party can contribute. In my opinion, the lack of housing in cities can only be effectively solved with collective efforts that involve private companies and non-profit organizations.