Many might blame the increasing number of road accidents on lenient fines; and therefore, harsher punishments should be imposed to ensure traffic safety. I entirely concur with this view, but to consider this as the only solution, in my opinion, does not seem perfectly reasonable as there are many other effective measures that could also be taken.

On the one hand, it is true that stricter punishments can solve the problem of road accidents because the most common reason for traffic accidents today comes from drivers’ irresponsibility when they exceed the speed limit or use mobile phones while driving. If people know that they might receive more severe sanctions when violating the law, they are likely to become law-abiding citizens and take more responsibilities for their driving. This, therefore, results in a decrease in the number of crashes.

On the other hand, I believe that this is not the only method to enhance traffic safety because having more surveillance cameras installed on roads is also another viable solution. Stricter punishment only ensures road safety at the places where there is a traffic officer but fails to guarantee law-abiding behaviors among traffic participants everywhere. For this reason, if drivers are aware that their actions are constantly monitored by camera systems and they can be punished later on if breaking the traffic laws, they certainly do not take risks.

In conclusion, heavier punishment is undoubtedly a promising measure to reduce the number of traffic accidents, but I believe that there are other solutions that can also deal with this problem.