The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic accidents have been a big concern in different countries and regions. Many people argue that the sole solution to this is to strictly punish rule-breakers. Although tight regulations are needed for driving violations, I believe there are other approaches to road safety since there are other causes of traffic accidents as well.

Undeniably, a large number of traffic accidents stem from rule violations such as speeding, drunk driving, or mere ignorance and to deal with these rule breakers, it makes sense to tighten the execution of punishments. In particular, Vietnam is the country that once saw the highest rate of traffic accident per year. The Vietnamese government, therefore, decided to strengthen traffic law enforcement by increasing the fine amount for speeding and other violations from the beginning of 2017. As a result, there was a 20% drop in the number of accidents at the end of the year.

Nonetheless, there are other causes of accidents on roads such as poor weather and geographical conditions, which require different solutions. Poor weather conditions may include heavy raining, snowing, thunderstorms etc.

That prevent drivers’ sight and ability to control the vehicles. They also may cause other damages that can indirectly cause accidents like broken trees or utility poles on the streets. A more appropriate approach should be to develop technological improvements in motorbikes and cars’ wheels or brake systems. Moreover, bad geographical conditions are dangerous as well. Accidents happen almost every day on narrow rocky roads in the mountainous areas, not to mention occasional landslide. One solution to this is to invest more in road reconstruction and provide extensive warning signs on high-risk routes.

In conclusion, punishing reckless drivers can be effective but only solves part of the problem. To thoroughly ensure road safety, different approaches should be taken for different situations.