People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a heated debate whether people should care about their well-being for their own benefits or for social responsibilities. I believe that both purposes are important and people should take an interest in both.

To begin with, it makes perfect sense that people take care of their health to benefit them personally. First, maintaining good health allows people to perform well in other activities, for example, playing sports, working, travelling etc. People in bad shape are limited in the range of activities they can do, such as those suffering from heart diseases are not permitted to ride a roller coaster, or those with diabetes are advised against rice consumption. Second, good health allows good appearance. WebMD reveals that people who have a balanced diet with a lot of vegetables and fruits tend to have a smooth complexion, bright eyes and healthy hair.

However, one should not disregard the responsibility of taking care of one’s self for the society’s overall wellness. One justifiable reason is that an ill person may be a threat to the bigger population when the disease is highly contagious. In particular, the outbreak of SARs in 2002 or H5N1 in 2005 started with a few misdiagnosed individuals. Moreover, unhealthy individuals can be a burden for the society and further hurt the economy. Let’s look at the spread of SARs again. The findings of Korea University and The Australian National University disclose that the total global cost of lost economic activity was 80 million USD.

In short, taking care of health is undoubtedly needed for one’s own benefits. Nonetheless, it also plays a vital role in ensuring the nation’s well-being, which confirms the social responsibility of each individual in maintaining their health.