People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether ensuring a healthy lifestyle should be deemed as public responsibility or individuals’ own advantages has evolved as a heated topic of controversy. While I consent to the social implications of personal fitness, I opine that the populace should retain their health in their interests.

In the first place, no sooner do individuals allocate their time and efforts for enhancing their health conditions than they can contribute as viable human resources to social betterment. For example, on account of constant training under a myriad of harsh conditions, loyal and strong-willed soldiers will be physically well-qualified to shield national security and sovereignty from abhorrent conspiracies of enemy forces. Simultaneously, when citizens are in good physical conditions, they have the competence to entirely devote themselves to the social development thanks to the capability to work for long hours with high productivity.

However, there is a common consensus that a good health lays the foundations for life fulfilment, which firmly endorses the viewpoint that people are obliged to maintain their welfare as personal benefits. By virtue of staying healthy and getting involved in recreation activities, people are bound to greatly enjoy their life. In addition, it is indisputable that the medical treatments often places a large financial burden on individuals, especially those suffering from chronic diseases like diabetes, tuberculosis or cancer. Therefore, through the medium of initiating appropriate diets and workout schemes, people will be able to prevent both illnesses and money loss.

All in all, it is my belief that citizens should take the maintenance of their health into serious consideration, as this benefits not only every single person but also the whole community.