People should look after their health as a duty to the society where they live, rather than their own benefits. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that residents should take care of their health as an obligation to the state instead of doing so to benefit themselves individually.

It is understandable as to why individuals can reap certain benefits if taking care of their own health. Firstly, they would enjoy an excellent physical and mental health, crucial to accomplishing a sense of contentment in life. A normal person who frequently jogs on the treadmill, lifts the weights or keeps doing the push-ups at the gym, for example, can build up strong muscles, giving him a well-proportioned body. Secondly, as individuals are those who have a perfect insight into their own health condition, they can adjust their daily diets appropriately, which will bring more productive outcomes. If a person is underweight, he will need a higher daily amount of fat and protein while an obese person is supposed to slash his regular intake of fast foods and consume more vegetables and fruits.

I believe that rather than the masses, it is the state’s obligation to ensure that its citizens are leading a healthy lifestyle. Such is some people’s ignorance of their consuming habits that government intervention is required and only their power is effective. Government should impose stringent checks or place an outright ban on foodstuffs of unclear origins which contain health-damaging substances (preservatives, additives) for human health. As another step, cigarettes or fast foods should be levied high taxes on to discourage citizens from this unhealthy habit. Besides, once all citizens are living healthily, a nation can hugely profit from a robust workforce, contributing to the economic well-being. Students would study more effectively without skipping classes due to poor health, or workers would make fewer mistakes, resulting in improved productivity.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both the government and individuals are direct beneficiaries, so they should join hands in this issue.