The only way to improve the safety on our roads is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the upsurge in the number of road accidents has sparked controversy about the most effective solution for this negative urban development. Some people are of the opinion that, for improvement of road’s safety, the only way is to set tighter road rules while others do not take the same position on this issue. Yet to the best of my knowledge, I completely reject this notion as I can see many pitfalls in implementing stricter rules on roads.

The first reason why having tight punishment on roads cannot bring safety on them is rooted in this fact that other tight laws in every domain of society have not been able to persuade citizens to obey governmental rules. For example, the vast majority of nations, if not all, executed their offensive criminals a century ago while this action failed to reduce the rate of crime in their communities. Now, rule setters are totally aware that tight road rules not only improve the safety on the roads but also it might bring opposite outcomes eventually.

Another justification is that it has been proved that road offenders disobey road rules because they do not have a great insight about them. In most cases, they become aware about a rule when they have become charged by a police officer. There is little room for doubt that the tighter road rule will be implemented, the more difficult they will be to be realized by citizens. It is obvious that citizens have abilities and definitely it would be impossible for some walks of life to adapt themselves with new road rules.

In the light of these facts, one can conclude that setting stricter punishments for driving offenders would not be able to enhance the safety of roads because the history of mankind has portrayed tight rules as a counter-effective action. Furthermore, disobeying governmental laws should not be answered by tight punishment as its reason is the lack of knowledge.