The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education and shopping. To what extent you do agree or disagree?

It is claimed that a decrease in public demand for traveling would be a solution to gridlocks in urban areas. While people can travel on a less regular basis in some ways, I suppose that it is not a pragmatic approach to the problem.

People may resort to a wide range of alternatives to traveling with the advent of advanced technology. Remote working allows employees to undertake tasks in the comfort of their own home, reducing the need to commute to workplaces. Similarly, students can take Internet-based lessons, which proves to be of almost equal quality and efficiency to conventional classes. In the light of the prevalence of e-commerce websites providing innumerable choices of goods, along with shipping services, customers now can do the shopping at the touch of a button. These methods all serve to reduce the need to travel and people no longer struggle with traffic problems such as congestion, time consumption and other relevant issues.

On the other hand, promising as they seem to be, the aforementioned approaches would not be viable from many perspectives. Some people apparently do not gain access to online services for their work, education and businesses due to a lack of electronic devices. Even in case they do, it would not be realistic to expect them to stop leaving their doorsteps as this may compromise their freedom of choice, possibly provoking a public outcry and leading to further social implications. Supposing that daily tasks were limited to online platforms, direct interaction would also decline and cause a feeling of desolation with other psychological impacts. Instead, the traffic issues can be alleviated by focusing on upgrading public transport systems in order to encourage public use and reduce private car ownership.

In conclusion, it is not practical to restrict people from traveling because of many negative impacts so upgrading public transport systems can stand in as a possible remedy to the traffic problems.