Many people believe that the elderly had better live with their family rather than other options, namely going to nursing home. However, it is not completely beneficial, there are some drawbacks which is unavoidable when having older people living together.

On the one hand, the elderly people are usually considered experienced ones in solving the problems. These people would accumulate much knowledge from what they had overcome throughout their long lifetime. Therefore, living with older people encourage younger generations to obtain more lessons in order to develop their essential social skills such as communication. People can also gain worthy wisdom from their stories about events happen in the past. Moreover, living with older people can be considered an effective way to express appreciation to them. People can easily do grateful things, namely look after and spending time with them every day.

On the other hand, people may also have some problems living with the elderly. They usually have a great deal of health problems and mental illnesses but these diseases can seldom be cured. In addition, older people would never completely recover from them once they suffer at such old age and that necessitate a special care and attention from family members. People, however, are possibly unable to expend enough things to fulfill the demand since they must concern about other matters in their life. My grandmother, for example, has had an Alzheimer for five years. She hardly remembers the house’s address so my family always carefully watch her which is sometimes difficult.

To conclude, living with the elderly may be not comfortable to some aspects, however, it is still advantageous for people who are offspring to learn new things.