To master and succeed in sports, there are numerous factors and skills that an individual needs to enhance. One school of thought opines that physical strength plays the most significant part in this, while others argue that mental strength is more important. This essay will discuss both perceptions and my point of view will be elaborated in the conclusion.

On the one hand, having good physical strength is a necessity for 2 main reasons. First and foremost, almost every sport requires a certain level of fitness. To take up a sport, an individual must have good strength, not to mention to win. For instance, normally, to enrol in a sports competition, contestants will have to meet some particular physical requirements such as weight, and height. Secondly, physical strength does define numerous factors that influence one’s potential to succeed in sports. Take running for example, it demands that the winner has durability and speed, and those two elements heavily depend on one’s physical strength.

On the other hand, mental strength also plays a crucial role in sports. This is because sports participants need smart strategies to win the game. They need a proper diet and training programme before the contest and techniques during the competition. Additionally, mental strength also includes the willpower and determined mind of a person, which are also essential when playing sports.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength is necessary to achieve success in sports. However, I think physical strength is the basis.