Transportation is one of the biggest factors that contributes to environmental degradation. One school of thought opines that it is necessary for the government to raise the fuel cost for vehicles in order to tackle issues related to the environment. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea and will discuss several reasons in this essay.

On the one hand, increasing the cost of fuel can help ease environmental problems in 2 main ways. Firstly, increased cost of fuel can promote people to turn to more environmentally-friendly means of transportation. This is because nowadays, fuel cost is fairly cheap so people use it without considering much. Meanwhile, when the cost is high, some will have to opt for more economic modes of transportation instead to save their money, and those supposedly more affordable vehicles are, in most cases, more environmentally-friendly as well, namely bus, bicycle, etc. Secondly, the profit of selling fuel could be used for conservation purposes. After increasing fuel cost, the profit would be considerably higher, part of it could be used in developing renewable and stable sources of energy such as wind power, solar power and hydraulic power; or planting forests, for example.

On the other hand, increased fuel cost has one significant drawback. This will create a financial burden for citizens of developing and underdeveloped countries. In many nations, there is not enough money to invest in improving technology in general, and the technology of new energy sources in particular. Therefore, people of those countries do not have access to, for instance, electric vehicles. Additionally, the public transport systems there are not well organized, causing inconvenience for traffic participants. Because of that, dwellers will have no choice but to use their private gastroline vehicle and increasing the cost of petro will just make life harder for them.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing the cost of fuel can be an effective solution to environmental problems attributed to transportation; however, it has one substantial demerit. I suggest that governments should take the specific situations of the region into account before deciding whether to introduce this policy or not.