In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is argued that to improve traffic issues, governments ought to impose high taxes on people owning private automobiles and use that money to upgrade public transportation facilities. This essay will demonstrate how this solution can mitigate pollution but will also show the drawback it places on car owners.

The most evident advantage when taxing personal cars heavily and investing more in mass transit is that the number of private automobiles may be significantly reduced. In order to save money, people will intend to switch to more economical options like carpooling and public transportation. Not only will the intention relieve traffic congestion but also help improve air quality. When fewer cars are used, the amount of toxic emissions will surely decrease and the carbon footprint will be limited. This has a positive effect on the environment since carbon dioxide is one of the main causes for global warming and climate change.

On the other hand, there is an obvious disadvantage to such a solution. In many rural areas, people do not have access to public transportation and it can cause many inconveniences to commuters. In order to go to school or work, they will have to either walk or drive their own vehicles. When taxes are imposed, people have no choice but to spend more money. Moreover, the countryside usually have a lower living standard compared to urban centers, therefore, heavy taxes will place a financial burden on them.

In conclusion, even though the high taxes benefit the environment, they can also result in difficulties for people living in the countryside.