In order to solve traffic problems, the government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Nowadays, with the rising population, more families have their own cars to travel conveniently. Thus, it leads to traffic problems everywhere, anywhere, government suggest that we should tax private car owners heavily and use that money to upgrade the public transportation. Accordingly, I partially agree with this current way of dealing with traffic issues can be effective.

Firstly, if the government puts it into practice, more car owners will promote the use of public transport systems. It will ensure that the traffic congestion in rush hours, thus making the roads more manageable. Moreover, this innovation benefits and contributes to saving the environment by reducing pollution and excessive use of natural resources like petrol and gas. Second, it will also ease the pressures on the roads, hence, making maintainance, new constructions will be easier and more efficient.

On the other hand, this suggestion is also seen as a form of discrimination. If authorities pass that law, it seems unfair because not only do private cars cause traffic jams, but also motorbikes, coaches, and other types of vehicles. Furthermore, automobiles account for a large amount of economy. Consequently, there will be a drop in car sales which can affect the livelihoods of many businesses, employers and the economy.

In conclusion, weighing up both sides I would say that although tax heavily on private car owners which can have certain negative impacts on individuals and the publics for handling with but the benefits that it brings to the communities are impossible to ignore.