In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion in many cities aroung the world is severe. Many people think that government should impose heavy taxes on car drivers and use the money to develop public transport better. However, beside some advantages, this solution also has some drawbacks.

The first benefit is that decreases the number of people owning car because it will become very expensive to drive. This means that traffic jam will be reduced and the number of cars moving on roads will decline, so pollution might be improved. Moreover instead of going by car, they would travel to work by public transport, thus the number of accidents significantly decrease. Another benefit is that government would spend much more money to upgrade public transport. For example, they could buy some new buses and develope traffic systems. Besides that, they could also provide some more facilities such as televisions, air-conditioners to advance the qualities of service, which encourages everyone to use public transport.

Nevertheless, the solution has drawbacks. First of all, this is policy that is not fair. Because it would be a heavy burden on the car drivers and one of them may have no choice and they have to drive car every day to earn money. It would be difficult to live comfortably. Whereas, the rich would not be affected by this policy considerably, they could afford to own many cars they like.

As a result, this solution can improve traffic jam and develop public transport better, but it also has disadvantages.