In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all

students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free

for everyone.

To what extent do you agree?

Pursuing university education in recent times, involves paying large amount of money as school fees, which many students can not afford. Some individuals are of the opinion it should be free of no charges. While I agree that university education should not be costly, I do not believe it should be free for all students.

People who argue that studying in the university should be without a cost have one major reason for this statement. They say that through this means every individual in the society will have the opportunity of acquiring university degree, and eventually possess all the necessary skills to survive in the competitive labour market. Togo, a small country in West Africa, is a good example as the government of the nation made it mandatory for all her citizens to go through tertiary education on scholarship. As a result of this, about 78% of the total adult population of Togolese are graduates. Therefore, because of the magnanimity of the Togolese government, almost every individual is equipped for the job market.

Other group of individuals on the other hand, hold the view that tertiary education should not be free of charge for everyone, even though the students should not be made to pay exorbitant tuition. They say that if learning in the university is without a cost, many of the students would be carefree towards their studies since they are not responsible for the fees. Consequently, they would invariably become graduates without substantial skills. For instance, graduates from Scoff university, which is located in the Eastern part of Nigeria, are always found wanting in terms performance at workplaces, because of poor performances. This was attributed to the fact that all the graduates from the university went through school free of tuition.

In conclusion, while I agree that studying at the tertiary institution should not be expensive as many students will not be able to afford it, they should be made to pay little amount of money as tuition as this will stimulate them to work hard to achieve outstanding results.