Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

In recent times, a good number of senior citizens are not cared for by their immediate families, rather,they are being taken to geriatric homes. While nursing the elderly by a professional geriatrician could be one of the benefits, it also, has its negative effect, as it will be shown in this essay.

One of the merits of taken old persons to a care homes is that, they will be looked after by a nurse or doctor trained mainly to care for elderly ones. In other words, despite the challenges that one commonly faced with caring for the elderly, these professionals, bear the responsibility of seeing that senior citizens are cared for, ensuring they are well fed, always in livingly mood, and are in a serene environment, which could prolong their live spans. For instance , a recent study by the American geriatric association, revealed that 68% of aged individuals admitted to a retirement home, spent the later days of their lives without worries, with many years added to their age. This is because the environment, which they found themselves is conducive, with passionate nurse and doctors around them.

That being said, in spite of the positivity that has to do with taken the older ones to a care home, there is also a disadvantage with this trend. As an elderly, having to spend the remaining days of one's life in a different environment order than what you were used to can be challenging. This is to say that, the aged person will have to adjust to a new faces and personalities. It leaves them with the impression being abandoned by their own family. A case of Mrs Edith, a 68 year old widow, is a good example. She was was taken to a nursing home at the aged of 66. Although her children usually visit her, she felt lamented she was abandoned.

In conclusion, having looked at the possible way by which taking an elderly to a care home could be advantageous - they are looked after by trained personnel, the loneliness and abandonment by families perceived by the old individual is a disadvantage of such act.