An increasing number of people are choosing to travel overseas for their holidays. They are taking advantage of cheaper airfares and as a result, many countries are now profiting from tourism. However, tourism can also create some problems. This essay will discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages.

One major benefit of tourism is that it can develop an awareness and understanding of other cultures. Tourists can experience a way of life different from their own and when they return home, they often share their knowledge and experiences of these cultures, customs and foods with family and friends.

Another advantage of tourism is the income it creates. Large hotels and resorts often employ local people. In addition, small businesses such as cafes and shops sell locally manufactured products such as souvenirs. In this way, the tourist industry can play a major role in providing employment to locals, thus improving a country’s economy.

However, the disadvantages of tourism should not be overlooked. One serious risk of international travel is the possibility of spreading dangerous diseases. A foreign tourist who has become infected with a disease may start an epidemic when returning home or travelling to other countries. The HIV virus is one example of a disease that has now become a worldwide epidemic. Another negative aspect of tourism is the increase in the number of locals who steal from tourists. Tourists carrying visible items of value such as cameras, jewellery or cash are particularly at risk and become easy targets.

To sum up, tourism clearly has many cultural and economic benefits, yet also brings risks that could threaten health and safety. Despite these risks, I believe that tourism gives people valuable opportunities to learn about different cultures and should therefore be encouraged.