Over sugar consumption is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility of sugar intake. Discuss both the views and give your opinion?

It is true that excessive consumption of sugar detrimental for our health .While some argue that it is government`s obligation to tackle this problem, I side with those who think that individuals themselves should be responsible for this .

On the one hand, government should find some measures to the problems that concern society. To put it simply, government should educate its citizens about adverse effect of sugar on human body in order to reduce sugar intake. If the government creates special plan to teach children from childhood about danger of sugar, It will be better. Besides, the authority can put restriction on some products. For example produced in factories dried fruits, peanut butter, bread, soy milk contain sugar, but these products are considered tasty and can be consumed without sugar. Also, sugar hidden in places one least suspect, in spaghetti sauce, ketchup, sport drinks, bologna.

On the flip side, it is one`s duty to maintain its health. In order to take control of sugar that is consumed by people, they should reduce sugar intake by finding alternatives. For instance, instead of candy or donuts people can choose banana or apple, they also contain sugar but their glycemic index are lower, therefore fruits and vegetables can be perfect alternative for sugary products. Moreover, people by checking the package of the product before purchasing are able to reduce over-consumption of sugar. Added-sugar has 55 aliases like rice syrup, corn syrup, caramel, diatase and so on. Hence, just by looking on food labels and reading the list of ingredients everyone can identify the sugar content.

In conclusion, despite the idea about governments obligation when it comes to sugar consumption, I believe that everyone should be responsible for their own health.