Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems

The problems caused by sharp population growth of metropolitan area are much more ubiquitous in a multitude of countries over the world, and both governments and individuals take responsibility to address these issues.

Overpopulation triggers a vast number of adverse long-term consequences for economic growth, development and poverty reduction. One of them is an excessive increase in unemployment rate, which could result in enhancement of lawlessness. Moreover, conflicts and wars could also be a frightening outcome of overpopulation that disrupts people’s lives in both densely populated cities and remote villages, especially in some developing countries. Hence, the death of innocent civilians is obviously incoming.

The government is in charge of mitigating these detrimental consequences. They should take management of population growth limit and let the citizens to curb their childbirth at reasonable numbers. Law is also in need of adjustment, which makes rules more strict in order to have conducive effects on residents’ awareness of sexual activities. Specifically, the government should set a tax on the locals who give birth to more than two children and create commercials in order to educate them about protective items during night time.

To completely solve the problems, the collaboration of individuals is obviously in demand. All the citizens need to perceive the difficult situation and be aware of what they are doing. They must also make effective use of birth control methods and take responsibility to guide those around them about the adverse effects of the increase of population growth.

To summarize, people should never take overpopulation in urban areas insignificantly for its detrimental consequences. However, if the government and individuals share a collective responsibility, the solutions will soonly get in practice.