Parents and teachers make many rules for children to encourage good behavior and protect them from danger. However, children would benefit from fewer rules and greater freedom.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is the principal duty of parents and teachers to protect their children from dangers, instill good behavior and mold them into good individuals. They should adopt all possible means to work towards this purpose. Hence, putting some certain rules of behavior and limiting their freedom seems essential.

To begin with, there are several reasons that ensure the need of rules in children’s life. Firstly, children are innocent and more vulnerable than adults and easily get attracted to various things which might be harmful in various ways. Thus, stricter rules ensure that children obey them and remain disciplined. This also helps them to concentrate on task allotted to them which ultimately results in better academic performance and good social behavior. Secondly, firm rules make children more cultured and well behaved finally leads them better human beings. In addition, restricting their freedom protects them from some evils in society, for example, smoking or drug addiction. Otherwise children get driven away from basic responsibility of getting good education.

However, some advocates of child freedom assert that limiting children to some rules for their development may give risk to a dislike in them towards their family and school. This may also hinder their holistic development as the basic nature of kids to play and experiment is not fulfilled. Moreover, instead of imposing rules, parents and teachers should be well behaved to make their children like them.

To conclude, children’s total freedom should not be snatched. However, imposing desired rules and giving required freedom would certainly mold children into better citizens. Moreover, children also stay protected from possible dangers.