As parents, they should be required to attend parenting courses every year to bring up their children well and give them a better environment for growth. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It has sparked a revival about whether parents should participate in some parenting classes to develop a better thorough understanding about their offspring or not. Although attending these courses could cause disturbance to their work, I am of the opinion that it would help them become more kind-hearted and patient to bring up their children.

On the one hand, there are various compelling reasons why many parents reject these courses and regard them as time-wasting programs. The key consideration is that due to their busy working schedule and heavy workloads, if they still devote their time to parenting programs regularly, it could adversely affect their health condition and may trigger emotional burden and psychological issues such as fatigue or anxiety disorder as they are less likely to rest well. Moreover, these classes are usually seen as unnecessary since parents could learn how to tackle their offspring’s problems thanks to their family members or even their friends. In other words, raising children is an instinctive ability, adults could create a close-knit relationship with their children without any official interference.

On the other hand, I would argue that adults with in-depth parenting knowledge would give their children a better growing condition. Chief among these reasons is that parenthood preparation courses would provide adults with a host of fundamental lessons and practical skills such as basic medical training or how to deal with students’ tension and peer pressure. For instance, parents who are equipped with first aid knowledge could address emergency health situations such as a high fever effectively. Furthermore, as there are an increasing number of kids committing crime or ending their life due to learning pressure, parents should take part in these classes in order to have a greater interpretation about their behavior and feelings which would help limit the risk of worst-case scenarios.

In conclusion, although parenthood preparation programs might result in detrimental influence on the parents’ health, I hold a belief that they should be forced to attend these courses as they would provide numerous benefits for their own offspring.