Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

As we come into the new millennium, the increasing global temperature is one of the most pressing environmental issues which poses a wide range of serious threats to the earth. In my opinion, the accelerated development of humans is the root of such a phenomenon and there are a host of interventions that could be carried out to confront this problem.

Several factors are to blame for the ever-rising temperature that the world has to cope with. First and foremost, due to the great expansion of global population, there is a tremendously rising amount of carbon emissions and exhausted fumes originating from factories , heavy industries or the higher utilizations of personal petrol vehicles. Therefore, it would trigger greenhouse effects and ozone depletion, which are one of the key culprits of global warming. Moreover, there is a rise in deforestation and over-exploitation of natural resources in order to make space for accommodations and industrial activities such as the emergence of factories, which usually discharge various hazardous chemicals and toxic waste into the air without any treatment.

On the other hand, there are a host of feasible measures that could be taken into consideration to mitigate this issue. One of the most practical actions is that government should impose more stringent regulations or stricter punishment on those who illegally log forests or dispose excessive poisonous gas and carbon dioxide to the environment. For instance, local authorities could introduce heavy fines for owners who overuse petrol vehicles, especially when unnecessary to promote the usage of public transport and bicycles. Furthermore, residents should switch from regular petrol means of transport to electric cars, which are more environmentally-friendly. In addition, government need to allocate more money for researching alternative renewable energy such as wind or tidal power and they also take the responsibility to raise awareness of citizens and force each of them to pledge to save the planet.

In conclusion, although there are various leading contributors resulting in global warming, I believe that this phenomenon could be addressed by a joint effort of both government and civilians.