Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some have voiced support that juveniles should contribute to the community by taking part in unpaid work in their leisure time as it is greatly beneficial for both themselves and society. In my opinion, this is a matter of debate in light of different factors before any conclusion can be drawn.

There are various compelling reasons why teenagers should spend their leisure time on doing unpaid work for the community. To begin with, this is a great opportunity for them to gain some practical working experience. Through these kinds of activities, they may face certain challenges which would help sharpen their soft skills and widen their horizons as well as having a multi-dimensional view when evaluating and tackling the problems. For example, in some developed countries such as America or Australia, teenagers will take part in some church activities including cleaning, decorating for special occasions and giving a hand in some team works. That would help then enhance their problem-solving skills and the ability to work with each other as a team. Another noteworthy benefit that should be taken into consideration is that when contributing for the society, those juveniles will learn how to love and share with people around them leading to a healthy mind and friendly society.

On the other hand, teenagers should enjoy their free time in the ways they want. As for most of the parts they are fully occupied with their hectic schedules at school, so it is unfair to ask them to work without payment. They have the rights to hang out with their friends or play sports to blow off some steam and achieve great physical and mental development. Provided that fact that they join in the community work without payment, they will get exhausted and that might affect their daily routine, and in the worst-case scenario, that would have negative influence on their academic performance. For instance, in some cultures, teenagers have to spend their holidays working for the pagodas or temples from 4.30 in the morning until 7.30 in the evening and they have to go to bed at 8 o’clock. Although this is truly a meaningful activity, it severely impacts their biological time and makes them feel extremely tired after the holidays.

In conclusion, while some have voiced support that juveniles should take part in community work without payment in their leisure time, I would argue that it is better to let them enjoy the time in the ways they want.