In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society, but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

In the past different countries had their own different architectural character, but nowadays the design of buildings becomes increasingly similar. This essay will analyze the reasons of this trend, and provide an overall opinion.

All modern buildings resemble is because they have been built by steels and concrete which are some abundant cheaper materials. Additionally, the speed of construction is faster due to following the certain scale with modern machines, and as a result, these buildings may not notice the various architectural features between alternative places. Furthermore, urban areas across the globe are becoming more and more alike why there are many tall buildings with shopping malls and fitness centers inside. Basically, people’s demands are highly increasing, and for example, people who live in cities go shopping in leisure time after working hard, or they will go to the fitness centers to exercise regularly.

Nevertheless, this trend can be good or bad for cities around the world. One of the best sides is that residents will enhance their standard of living with high-quality infrastructures. To be specific, city dwellers can live in apartments with sufficient and useful equipment in the buildings. One of the adverse aspects is that losing traditional culture. As a consequence, cities have many tall and resemble buildings which do not make a strong impression on visitors.

In conclusion, the similarity between other cities is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. However, if people think it is good, it will become good. Instead of comparing to in the past, people not only should preserve traditions and customs, but also boost the development of society to keep pace with other cities all over the world.