Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

A topical issue in modern society is the standard of living in urban areas which will decline in the future years. This has caused many difficulties for residents and local councils. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is occurring, and offer some solutions.

There are two main reasons why the quality of people’s lives becomes lower than ever before. Firstly, the large number of people moves countryside to big cities. This is because they can seek more employment opportunities with higher salary and income. As a result, it leads to overpopulation and shortage of houses for inhabitants in large cities. Secondly, the environment is likely to pollute due to air pollution and water pollution. To elaborate, traffic congestion level is increasing in the heart of the city in rush hour with a large number of vehicles. Additionally, residents have to suffer from diseases because they use unsafe water and they live nearby industrial zones where contaminated water include hazardous chemicals is relieved into rivers and lakes every day.

Nonetheless, there are a number of ways to resolve this problem. First of all, the governments should invest money in companies in the countryside to create more jobs for locals. Therefore, they will not have to leave hometown to urban cities. Furthermore, local councils should implement policy and laws to companies which usually get rid of water waste to the environment. To be specific, those companies must set up water waste treatment systems to help protect waterways in the natural.

In conclusion, the standard of living in big cities is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. Nevertheless, I believe that the best way to resolve this issue is by applying policy and laws to companies where water waste level affects the environment seriously. If the authorities do not avoid this problem, residents will have to live under pollution in the future.