In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

A topical issue in modern society is shopping. These days, it is argued that shopping as a leisure activity. To my mind, I think that it is a negative trend.

There are two main reasons why I believe that recreational shopping is not a positive trend. Firstly, the majority of people who shop just for fun are shopaholics. This is because they spend too much time shopping, and hence, unless they go shopping, they will feel unhappy. Secondly, non-essential shopping leads to throw-away society. To elaborate, some women purchase clothes from retail stores, but they dispose of them after using once or twice, and therefore, it absolutely affects the environment and major resources. For example, clothes manufactures have to use the large amount of water to produce and dye like jeans and t-shirts.

A further reason is that people may waste money for non-essential items when they shop. This is because nowadays the power of advertisements makes people want to purchase products immediately, although they cannot need. For instance, several people shop too much through using credit card that contributes to debt with a great deal of money.

In conclusion, shopping as a hobby is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. However, I believe that people can control their mind before shopping to reduce waste in the environment. If people want to enhance the standard of living, they will know how to shop to save money and time, and become smart consumers in the growing era of consumerism.