In the past, cultural and historical relics were stored in museums. But now, people can see them freely with the internet. Some people believe that museums are no longer needed in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is more effortless to see the relics which stored in museums via the Internet than in the past. While a part of the function of the museum may be replaced by the Internet, I completely disagree with the idea that museums are unnecessary for our future and I believe that the advancement of technology can assist the operation of the museum.

At first, the purpose of museum establishment is to share knowledge and to provide an educational space for the masses. Although people can visit museums on the website and without charging the admission fee, others function of the museum would not be entirely substituted by the Internet. For example, the maintenance of relics is one of the irreplaceable works. There are many experts research the history of relics and develop the way which can protect the relics to keep well. Moreover, it is healthier to teach children the knowledge in the museums than surfing on the Internet, and I believe that visiting museums can improve the creativity of children.

On the other hand, the Internet still should be considered to assist museums operation, although people do not need to charged admission fee. For example, museums can create the 3D space of the indoor museum for people as like as the street view created by Google. This measure can intensify the motivation to visit museums and benefit for people who live in the countryside or foreign country. People can see more details of relics via the website and visit the website whenever they want. In addition, the Internet can assist to solve several problems such as crowded people in museums, to miss the opening hours and the impairment of relics caused by visitors.

In general, I do not agree that the development of the Internet will be the factor to cause museums valueless. Instead, it can be a powerful method to support the original purpose.