In the past lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach?

Technology has played an important role in bringing innovations in every field of life. It has also changed methods of teaching. Although, use of technology in teaching has many advantages, yet it has some disadvantages too. Both sides of the use of technolgy in teaching are discussed in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost advantage of using technology in teaching is that it has made teaching very easy. In this modern era, teachers spend less time on writing on black board as compared to the traditional methods of teaching. For example, in old methods of teaching, the teachers used to spend majority of their time on writing on blackboard and then explaining the concepts. Computer presentations, projectors and lectures through videos has made the task of lecturers very easy. For instant, a teacher only explains the difficult concepts while using a recorded video lecture.

Another advantage of the use of new technology in teaching is that it saves time. As a result, a teacher can teach a large number of topics in a very small time. This is due to that fact that time is not wasted on writing, rather the teacher focuses on explaining the concepts. This takes far less time than the traditional approach of teaching.

The use of technology in teaching is not free from disadvantages. In order to use the technology more effectively in educational institutions, we would require teachers and lecturers who have up-to-date knowledge to use the technology as well as competencies in their own subjects. Due to this requirement, universities and colleges may face difficulties in hiring excellent faculty. For example, many excellent teachers may not have awareness or adequate knowledge of using technology in teaching.

To summarize, technology has made the task of teachers and lecturers very easy. However, to use the technology effectively , the teachers must have considerable knowledge of using modern tools in educational institutions.