In the past most families ate together in the evening, and the food was almost always cooked at home. Nowadays, however, many families rarely eat together every day and often the food is bought outside the house, or supplied by catering.

What are the reason for this? In your opinion is it a negative development?

Development of countries in this current time is changing social interactions. The Most impact appears in family behaviour, especially in families eating habits. Most families in the past always cooked together compared with today, a lot of people like to buy food from the outside or supplied by catering more.

According to the situation above, I think there are several reasons why it happens. Firstly is parent working time means they have much time to be at home, including to cook together with their family. Most parents in the past prefer to work as a farmer. They worked on the day along and when night appeared, they will have a quality of time with their own family. Secondly because by buying food from a restaurant is more simple and does not waste much time. To prepared lunch and dinner, at least have to spare one up to two hours before it served, and of course for parents who have overworked on their office did not have it. Not only about the time, buying food in a restaurant or supplied by catering served the variety of foods. It will make them not bored with just one kind of foods.

On the other hand, there are negative points from this habit. Firstly, the food is not healthy. Sometimes to make it easier, the parent usually buy fast food, such as hamburger, pizza, or sandwich. So it still continues, it has a bad impact on health. Secondly is family interaction. Families in the past who cooked together had good communication development. So, that family also could give attention to their children.

In conclusion, I suggest parents who work long hours still have to care about healthy aspect of the food and also family interaction.