In the past most people used to travel to their place of work With increased use of computers the internet and smartphones more and more people are starting to work from home What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development

With technological advancements, computers, the internet and smartphones have become a need of the hour. Their usage has significantly increased over the past few years because everything is easily accessible in a matter of few clicks.

On the one hand, there are some positive aspects of working from home. People are able to save the money that they were spending on their commute. More importantly, people who work from home are saving a lot of their time and energy. That may lead to an increase in productivity. Secondly, not only employees benefit by working from home but businesses have also profited from this trend. Some businesses do not require an office anymore to operate. As a result, employers are able to cut down the operational costs like paying rent of their office, office utility bills, etc. This makes the business prosper.

On the other hand, despite these advantages, there are some negative aspects of working from home as well. Working from home requires a fair amount of technological awareness. Not all people are familiar with technologies like computers, the internet, and smartphones. Due to the lack of technological knowledge and interest, their ability to perform may hinder that ultimately affects the business. Secondly, working from home reduces the interaction of the employees with their colleagues and management. This may lead to a drop in team performance which increases the probability of getting overlooked for things such as promotions and pay raises.

In conclusion, though there are advantages of working from home it has its own drawbacks as well. So employees should decide very carefully if they want to work from home or travel to the office.