In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the past, almost everyone used to go to their workplaces, however, because of the development of electronic facilities, more and more people are staying at home and working. For this renovation, there are many benefits and drawbacks for people’s life and their working. I will interpret both the strong points and weak points of these new changes.

When you start doing work from home, the best strength is convenience. Therefore,you will not forget anything. If yes, you can get it easily as you are at home. Furthermore, you won’t be afraid of the traffic jams so you can save time and work on time. Another great merit of this is you can also have better work and life balance, for example, you will have time for working and you can also spend time with your family. Moreover, if you have time, you will have more opportunities to work for several companies.

The weaknesses of working from home are also as many as the strengths. You will have isolation with others and feel lonely because you work alone at home, you have less interaction with your coworkers. In addition, it also limits your learning as you can’t cooperate with your colleagues so you won’t learn useful ideas from them. You also lack sufficient discipline to complete tasks in time. Definitely, the equipment at home will be inadequate than in the workplaces so you will have some difficulties about that.

To summarise, working from home has both good sides and bad sides to people’s daily life and working. Whilst its advantage is convenience, the disadvantage is that it will limit your interaction with others. However, I feel that the positive impacts would outweigh the negative impacts.