In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Instead of working in the office, there is a tendency nowadays that people work directly in their homes due to the development of technology and social media. This essay will analyze some benefits as well as drawbacks of working from home.

On the one hand, flexibility is the first benefit when working at home. Workers have the chance to create their own balanced timetable between work and personal life without following any strict rules and working hours in the workplace. As a result, teleworkers have a comfortable working schedule as well as also spare them for family and interest, leading to the enhance in the output. Furthermore, working at home means that employees are likely to save time and money. This is because commuting a long distance to the office takes a lot of time waiting for buses or traffic jams as well as a huge amount of money for transport fees.

On the other hand, this kind of work also brings several dark sides. Firstly, without supervision from bosses or managers, the productivity of work seems to decrease. It Is viable that employees are faced with procrastinations such as some entertainment activities, leading that they cannot focus totally on their works and finish it perfectly. Secondly, the restricted interaction with peers is one of the most important factors contributing to the lack of productivity. It is true that employees have less motivation when working remotely because they have to manage their responsibility without any support and encouragement from their colleagues. To illustrate, working individually might be more struggling with meeting deadlines and completing projects in time compared with teamwork.

In conclusion, flexibility and time-saving are the main advantages. Meanwhile, decrease productivity due to the lack of supervision and interaction and are pointed out as the drawbacks of working from home.