In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

These days, many people, especially women, tend to go shopping as a leisure activity, rather than a simple household task as in the past. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this is a positive trend and will present my reasons in this essay.

To commence with, going shopping on ocassion can be seen as an effective means of relaxation. It is because shopping allows people to be indulged in the world filled with attractive material goods, which ease their eyes and their mind. For example, visiting a clothes store on the weekend or special days provides women with a sense of comfort and satisfaction. Moreover, being able to buy their all- time favourite dress with their own money will bring them a great sense of achievement.

Furthermore, many people may go shopping in order to renew themselves as well as their own daily life. It is because of the fact that keeping a material thing for a long time may lead people to feel tedious and low-spirit, For example, a woman who repeatedly wears the same set of clothes may come over as being quite boring and monotonous. Therefore, buying new things such as clothes and household furniture will contribute to bringing people a new lease of life and make themselves become more diverse and flexible.

To conclude, I can say in affirmative that going shopping regularly as a hobby serves people as a means of entertainment, and at the same time, colour people’s daily life with changes.