In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this development?

In recent years by developing technology the boundaries between countries have developed and there is no restrict for students to continue their education in foreign countries. According to statistics this progress has both pros and cons. The benefits can be visiting new nations and knowing about the culture, also, the drawbacks may be missing the home town and difficulties in interaction with new people.

As it is mentioned above there are some disadvantages to this trend, the first and for most important issue is that these days students have more opportunity to go aboard and to have further studies due to the fact that technology has enhanced and the invention of plains and internet assist youths to apply for a university and travel to new destinations. Although at first it is very routine and everyone will enjoy experiencing new life, after months they miss their family especially when time difference is too much and often they cannot speak to them. For instance, the ones who live in the USA have nearly 10 to 12 difference time with their parents in Iran. Secondly, connecting with whom cannot understand youngsters’ language or accent is so difficult, so, students get depressed and interaction get more difficult for them. For example, Iranians who go Britain for the first few months are not able to connect with anyone because of the British accent that they do not understand. Therefore, living and studying in other countries is not as easy as many believe.

On the other hand, travelling and educating abroad has benefits as well. As it helps adolescents to grow their knowledge about new nationalities and cultures. They learn how to respect other nations and live near them without any clashes such as Canada which has the most immigrant population in the world. In addition, students learn new methods that have been used in education, as a result, when they decide to go back to their home they can either use it in their jobs or enhance schooling system in their country.

In conclusion, it can be deduced from previously stated issues that these days people are more interested in continuing their lessons in other lands, however, there are both advantages and drawbacks to this trend.