Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think is it a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that countries are developing as fast as they can and boundaries are disappeared. People, also, have the capability to purchase the products which are the same in all corners of the world. From my perspective it has both benefits and negative effects in developing countries.

The first challenge is that products which are scattered around the world are almost always famous brands and they usually outsell the local products; hence, local products are doomed to failure. In some developing countries, for instance, most individuals prefer to buy clothes from famous brands instead of supporting local ones since they hold that local brands do not have high quality; so, unfortunately the small businesses go bankrupt and many people lose their jobs. The second point is that it destroys the creativity of the countries importing goods and does not let talented people to develop their ideas. A prime example attesting to this argument is people who design items for souvenir shops when nobody buys from them, they would be fired.

On the other hand, by selling products countries become familiar and it prevents prejudice against each other. A typical example are some cancer medicines which our country could not make and as they were produced in a country that was against us. But, because of high demands the medicines were imported and countries forgot prejudice. Furthermore, each country is well-known for producing specific products and since all countries want to bring prosperity, they should share their products. For example, Iran is professional in producing high quality carpets and weak in making mobile; therefore, they export carpet and import mobile phones.

All in all, it can be deduced that spite of the fact that local businesses should be propped up, we cannot deny the fact that benefits of international companies outweigh the drawbacks.