In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Stepping into the 21st century, students are more likely to have more chance to study overseas instead of in their own country. In my opinion, the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Admittedly, studying and living abroad broadens students' perspective on life. In fact, many foreign countries offer new and better learning techniques to educate the present generation, so international students may also gain a broader context for understanding today’s most pressing global issues. Furthermore, studying abroad can open student's eyes to plenty of job opportunities for their major that are beyond what they envision. Seeing different situations where their discipline applies globally can help students reach for the stars and find the place that best suits their personal interests and goals. Last but not least, living in another country will help shape students into independent and adventurous adults. Particularly, this opportunity makes the students get out from their comfort zone themselves to solve unexpected problems themselves, planning financial schedule and so on.

However, studying abroad is also risky in terms of time and money. More specifically, students going abroad need to study that country’s national language first, so there is nothing for them to do except learning the language. Studying in a foreign country costs more money than in their country. So, some of them may not focus on their studies because there is nobody around to supervise them. In addition, the lack of family support can lead to a sense of isolation and frustration of students, and therefore affects their study’s performances.

In conclusion, despite several drawbacks, the source of students studying overseas is one of the most important factors for every country's development, especially the developing countries.