In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Recent decades have witnessed a tremendous increase in the number of people going abroad to tertiary education. While there is no doubt that this will offer them greater opportunities in the future, I would argue that this tendency brings more harm than good.

To begin with, studying overseas is one of the main reasons that leads to brain drain in developing countries. Even though the authorities in these countries have funded a large amount of national budget for them, it is often inferior to the figure of the developed countries in which so many prestigious schools are located. Besides that, countless competitions are held to seek talent by multinational organizations that result in human capital flight from the rural areas to the urban ones and from the developed cities to the more developed ones.

Oversea universities may provide different educational standpoints and broaden knowledge for students, but not real wisdom. Higher education, paradoxically, tend to lead them to further costly ones instead of genuine experiences. For instance, learners can acquire a deep understanding of business administration from the “so-called” professors in those foreign schools, while they can gaining real lectures from real entrepreneurs with authentic knowledge in that field. Therefore, people tend to have a shortage of life wisdom and subconsciously believe higher education elsewhere would help them to sort that problem out.

To recapitulate, the world has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding the adverse features of studying abroad. Whereas people will continue to search for further knowledge in foreign universities, nonetheless, the detriments of this, I fear, is likely to outweigh the merits.