People aim to achieve the balance between their work and lives. But few people achieve it. What are the causes of the problems? How to overcome it?

Over the past few decades, we have seen an alarming increase in the number of people struggling with finding the balance between their work and lives. This essay will outline several possible causes for this tendency, and several potential measures to help address the matter.

It was Dalai Lama once said that we sacrificed our health in order to make wealth, and then sacrificed our health in order to get back our health. Indeed, in a materialistic and consumer-driven world, most of us hustle ourselves to work day and night so that we can cover the needs of our daily activities, which even somehow turns our nine to five jobs into nine to nine ones. To take Japan as an example, yet, Japanese citizens are arguably one of the most diligent and intelligent workers in the world; the majority of them, however, still have to work overtime owing the extreme high daily expenses, and therefore do not spend enough time on building personal life, such as getting married. As a result, we will soon suffer from exhaustion, nervousness and most signficantly imbalance in life.

Nevertheless, there are a variety of ways to create a healthy work-life balance. First of all, it is essential to prioritize between job and life flexibly. To illustrate, you might have a few days immersing in an array of works, but then truly shut work completely off for a while to pursue your own hobbies as well relax with your loved ones. Secondly, as you recognize your job gradually making you lethargic and lazy instead of empowering and exciting, it is time take changing workplace into account. Finally, regardless of how much you can earn from that job, health should always be the most profound concern, thus do not be afraid to call in sick. All in all, the importance of material wealth is likely to pale in comparison with human sanity.

In conclusion, I contend that the healthy work-life equipoise is a vital need in life, therefore steps need to be taken to achieve that.