Drug addiction is an alarming situation of today’s society, especially among the youngsters, and some social scientists argue that parents and peer pressure are the reasons of this situation. This essay outlines the peer pressure and family habits as the main causes of this phenomenon, which results in health problems from a very young age and can only be solved by the government.

To begin with, the young people are affected by the bad habits of their family and friends. It is undeniable that parents and friends have a direct impact on children’s behavior. More and more teens are falling prey of drug abuse because of their bad companies or drug use history in their family. A recent study found out that family dynamics and peer affiliation directly influence substance initiation and use. This means that more frequent drug use during early periods of adolescence appears to lead to increased dependency in adulthood. As a result, serious illnesses and chronic health problems become a norm among the teens who extensively abuse drugs.

To get around this problem, the government should take effective measures aiming to eliminate or disappear the drug use by younger people. Central authorities should take initiatives by educating children about the harm effects of drugs on their body and mind. They could also run campaigns related to the health problems caused by drugs and monitor the drug use in public places.

To sum up, drug abuse by teens is a crucial phenomenon nowadays, caused by imitation of family’s and friends’ bad habits and resulted to serious diseases. Therefore, governments should take some measure to protect the young generation