People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phones. Is it a positive or negative development?

The blooming age of Industrial 4.0 is now turning many a person into hinging on the Internet and mobile phones. This essay is aimed at considering this issue thoroughly prior to arriving at a firm conclusion.

There are a number of different benefits to be taken into account when it comes to people becoming addicted to the Internet and telephones. To begin with, the issue might result in cell phones coming to necessaries nowadays. By and large, they can not step away from these requisites on the grounds that there are a large number of fabulous and beneficial apps on smartphones and informative websites which hold exciting fascinations with users like e-newspapers, e-learning sites, e-commerce exchange, to name but a few, to aid effectively their daily work. Also, the fact that people take advantage of the Internet and cellular phones in some particular circumstance deserves consideration. In the nationwide lockdown and social distancing period to avert the Coivid-19 pandemic, every single national from students to white-collar workers converted most real-world activities into virtual forms with the aid of the Internet and a lot of profitable apps, with the result that people cannot be irresistible to spend more and more time on the Internet and their phones.

It is likewise worth mentioning several drawbacks of this issue. Granted that in respect of examination in education, devices, including smartphones, smart watches, connected to the Internet could facilitate cheating in exams, this problematic challenge violates and ruins the equity and morality in candidates’ performance assessment. Another major demerit is their damages to users’ health in medical term. Given the fact that social network abuse to conduct cyberbullying into an individual account comes from not only Facebook’s users but also other platform’s ones, the victim suffers severe depression, mental problems in general which could lead to his pitiful suicide.

In view of the aforementioned discussion, I take the position that people relying on the Internet and phones too much can be a mixed blessing.