People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the aging population has many advantages for business, government and society in general. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people believe that the longer life span of humans can create many thorny problems. Nevertheless, others suggest that this can also bring many advantages for both business and government sectors as well as society. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and feature my own opinion.

There are reasons why many hold a belief that the ageing population is a problem. Firstly, it adds pressure on the welfare state when budgets are stretched thin because the greying population drive up medical and pension payments. Secondly, that people live longer may lead to a higher retirement age, which means people would be in the job market for a longer duration. If the world of work fails to create new jobs, the end result can be fewer jobs available to younger people.

On the contrary, other people believe in the benefits that the ageing population can bring to business, government and society. From a business perspective, companies can capitalise on products and services that cater to older people. More importantly, our ageing population can be an economic powerhouse, which is no doubt a good thing for any government. In the longevity economy, more people can take part in economic activities and spend money, which is definitely positive for the economic growth. For society, older people have a wealth of skills and experiences; in addition, they are a living museum of old values and traditions. Their longer life expectancy helps survive good values and traditions which always face the risk of being forgotten.

In conclusion, I believe that longer lives do pose challenges to the earth which is already a very crowded place. However, this is an irreversible trend which also carries with it many benefits.