Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Over the past few years, the prevailing problem of mitigating the rate of crime has drawn public attention. People have different views about whether giving a longer time for the prisoner or carrying out alternative solutions brings forward beneficial ramifications. I incline to agree with the latter opinion.

On one side of the argument, there are a few rationales to demonstrate why many hold a belief that expanding a period of time in prison could reap an array of vital benefits. The reason is that implementing this measure is considered as one of the primary solutions minimizing a multitude of threats to the offenders. In fact, the long-term punishment in prison acts as a hassle for them to refresh themselves or get essential support when returning back to society. This action not only to pose a plethora of threats to the prisoners but also to generate typical models for the community, and thus the rate of crime will be mitigated instantly. Taking Singapore as shinning as an example, to alleviate the proportion of offenders, Singapore’s governments and authorities have triggered far-reaching changes such as increasing the time for the punishment of offenders. As a result, Singapore is known as for the safety country around the world, and thus it hardly finds it challenging to look for criminal activity.

As far as criminal allleviation is concerned, I would partially comply that opting other efficient measures due to the lowered rate of crime, which reaps an array of beneficial ramifications. First and foremost, governments should exert their power to generate some meetings for citizens to raise their perceptions when it comes to disastrous repercussions derived from these criminal activities. The consequences not only to conceive the significant effect of turning on crime but also put an end to this onerous problem. In other words, it is of paramount importance that the regulation regarding crime needs triggering far-reaching changes by the authorities. They are likely to enforce stern laws which act as a deterrence, posing a multitude of threats to offenders with harsh punishments. As a result, the number of offenders could be minimized, creating a safer community.

In conclusion, in spite of the essential function of long-term custodial sentences performs in respect of crime prevention, I strongly hold a belief that there are more appropriate methods that could be imposed with the intention of curbing crime.