Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is appreciated that the most pragmatic method to tackle delinquency is imposing longer sentences in jail; meanwhile, other alternatives are believed to be more feasible. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, I am truly in agreement with the second viewpoint. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict.

On the one hand, giving longer prisons to criminals can do wonders for the battle against crime. Initially, this method would act as a deterrent to people breaking the laws. Furthermore, a longer time in incarceration may help rehabilitate offenders. This is derived from the fact that they have more time to feel remorse for their wrong behavior. Therefore, when being released, they would be afraid of engaging in activities that can lead to criminality. For example, in some nations such as Vietnam and UAE, the rapist and the murderer usually get life imprisonment, resulting in making people think twice before committing any serious crime.

On the other hand, I believe that other methods are also indispensable to curb the crime rate. The initial measure is for authorities to hold workshops that educate people on legal knowledge in order to raise their awareness. Besides, governments should install more surveillance cameras on the streets to prevent petty wrongdoers like pickpockets and shoplifters. One of the most effective methods is ensuring that ex-prisoners will have a decent job when they are free, which is an effective relapse prevention plan. Once they possess the capability to support their families, the proportion of being convicted again would dip considerably.

In conclusion, although allowing people to serve long prison sentences can be a great contributor to restricting delinquency, I hold a strong belief that other effective methods need to be taken simultaneously.