Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent years, it has been argued whether putting criminals to prison with longer time or alerting the punishment by other programs is more suitable in many parts of the world. While there are many merits of sending offenders to prison, I strongly believe that using alternative methods is better to decrease the criminal rate.

On the one hand, there are plenty of reasons why many people realize that lawbreakers should be imprisoned as long as possible. There is no doubt that innocent citizens are more likely to have a sense of safety and security when people who commit crimes are kept in jail. If the government imposes stricter punishment, it could stop potential criminals intending to engage in unlawful activities. Moreover, prisoners are able to spend their time examining their wrong activities in jail, meaning that they could have more opportunities to become good citizens when they rehabilitate.

On the other hand, I find evidence that applying alternative methods can be more beneficial to inhabitants, despite the strong argument above. Obviously, no one can agree that judgment or law is used as a punishment. Besides, criminals should have the opportunity to be released from prison and rehabilitate in the community. Instead of putting offenders in jail longer, the authorities could send criminals to rehabilitation programmes. In addition, offenders can also take part in some community service which brings benefits not only for them but also for the society.

In conclusion, I completely agree that the merits of alerting methods to punishment such as rehabilitation and benefits for the community outweigh the advantages of increasing time in prison, in terms of safety and self-esteem.