as people in cities are becoming richer,more of them can afford to buy cars. in consequence,city centres are becomming more congested and poluted all over the world.what are the main causes of this problem and what are the solutions?

traffic congestion is a growing problem in cities throughout the world.most cities were planned when people used horses and carts,walked or rode bicycles.as a result,the streets are too narrow to take today's traffic.

in addition to this,there is not enough off-street parking in the city;therefore drivers leave their cars on the side of the road,making the space even narrower.people may be reluctant to use public transport because it is inconvenient,too expensive or not available for the jurney they want to make.cars are also major status symbols,meaning that more and more people want to own one.

now that traffic congestion has become such a problem,governments and local councils are desperately seeking solutions.in view of the fact that the number of car drivers has increesed,the obvious solution is to build more roads,but this is unpopular

owing to its effect on the countryside.inside cities,one-way systems can be introduced at little cost.thus, the the traffic flow can be eased.some cities now make drivers pay to enter the city centre, so that they are encouraged to live their cars at home.Another scheme is 'park and ride'in number of cars inwhich people have theircars outside the city and take a bus to the central district, therebyreducing the number of cars in the city centre.

overall,it is clear that urgent action needs to be taken,since traffic congestion leads to pollution and frustration.Reliable, cheap and convenient public transport must be the answer.