People do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes and the solutions.

Nowadays, a large proportion of people do not feel secured while at home or when they are outside. Occurrence of natural disasters and societal conflict might be the reasons for this, however, ensuring adequate security measures amongst other steps will solve this problems, as will be discussed in the essay.

Incidence of natural disasters such as earthquake,flood and fire outbreak are one of the reasons why individuals do not feel protected within and outside their residential area. These events usually happen suddenly and unaware, and it has led to the death and displacement of many residents. As a result of this,they feel unsafe within and outside their surroundings. Another cogent reason is societal and religious crisis which has accounted for the death of a large number of people. A society whose composition is made up of different people from diverse culture and religion tend to experience crisis which eventually lead to killings and vandalization of properties. Therefore, inhabitants of the society do not feel protected while at their residents and outside. For instance, boko haram insurgency has instilled fear in the inhabitants of the northern areas in Nigeria.

Nevertheless,one of the steps to avoid these issues is adoption of measures by the authorities to reduce the incidence of natural disasters. For example, construction of drainages to avoid flood and provision of materials and equipments by the government in case of emergency. Another possible solution is encouraging cooperation among people of different ethnic groups and cultural background, then adequate security measures should be ensured.

In conclusion, although occurrence of environmental disasters and religious crisis can make people feel insecure whether at home or outside, effective implementation of the suggested solutions will solve this problems.