Accommodation and transport problems are increasing in many large cities. Businesses are encouraged to move to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

While accommodation and transport issues are growing in urban areas, commercial activities are advised to shift to regional areas. The merits of migrating businesses to rural areas greatly outnumber the demerits as social amenities such as housing and good roads are readily available and there is job opportunities for rural dwellers.

On the one hand,there are several benefits in relocating work to the countryside. Firstly, accommodation are readily available and at a cheaper price in the rural areas,due to the fact that people have relocated to the urban centers for greener pastures. Similarly,the roads are favourable for transportation. Hence, availability of these social amenities reduce the cost of production and increase profit. Secondly,the economic status of the regional areas are improved when the indwelling business owners pay tax. Taxes paid by them are used for the development of the underdeveloped areas. Thirdly, employment opportunities are available for the rural dwellers. The movement of commercial activities to the countryside creates job opportunities for the residents therefore, poverty is alleviated and standard of living is improved.

On the other hand,the major problem involved in shifting work to remote areas is overpopulation,which is the increase in the total number of people living in a particular area. This occurs because people tend to migrate to areas where there are employment opportunities. Consequently, housing problems ensue when the number of people living in a particular area is greater than the available houses. Another worrying issue is that,most roads in the regional areas are destroyed after long use thereby leading to delay in transporting goods from the site of production. As a result,these products get destroyed and inflation arises.

In conclusion,the merits of moving commercial activities greatly outweighs its demerits as social amenities such as accommodation and good roads are readily available and at a cheaper rate likewise creation of job opportunities.