People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life, what are the problems?

Should government encourage people to move to regional towns

Individuals living in urban cities usually encounter a number of issues in their day to day activities. Some of the problems include, pollution, over crowding and traffic congestion. These, has stirred up a question among people as to whether the government should promote migration from urban cities to small towns.

Firstly, people living in the cities are faced with problems of environmental pollution due to the high number of population. This is because the higher the number the more the waste generated. The waste product from the food consumed, fumes from exhausts of vehicles all serve as pollutant, which are hazardous to the health of people. Secondly, over crowding is a major issue in urban cities. This is as a result of closely built houses, due to lack of land mass that increased population has caused. Thus, leading to poor ventilation, ease of transmission of air borne diseases. For example, studies have shown that there is an upward surge in the number of people living with tuberculosis, an air borne infection, as a result of this. Consequently, reducing the quality of life of her citizens.

In my opinion, the government should encourage citizens to migrate to smaller rowms smaller towns by providing basic amenities such as electricity, good roads, recreational facilities and functional water system. This will motivate individuals to move to regional towns. Also, industries should be encouraged to establish factories in these areas so as to provide employment. For example, Lagos, a city in South West Nigeria, is faced with the issues of urbanization and due to these, many industries have established factories in neighbouring towns. This therefore, has brought about urbanization in such places and overtime, it will reduce problems faced in the cities.

In conclusion, the problems of living in urban regions such as over crowding and environmental pollution are worthy of note. The government should therefore provide basic amenities to encourage her citizens to migrate to smaller towns.