Some people think that development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by certain individuals that the advent of technology has lessened crime rate. Others however, are of the opinion that it supports it. In my opinion, technology encourages crime because it provides platforms for theft to be carried out. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion.

On the one hand, technology stimulates theft as it provides avenues by which such offences are carried out. The use of gadgets, which contains various applications has made it easy to hack into people's phones, computers and accounts. Thus, increasing crime rate. For example, there is an increase in cyber crime among youths in my country because of easy access to these gadgets. Therefore, availability of technology through mobile phones and computers have heighten fraudulent activities.

On the other hand, technology has brought crime rate to a low with the advent of inventions such as drones and car tracking system. These have drastically reduced theft by providing prompt solutions. For example, Nigeria - one of the countries in West Africa- has through the help of technology found a means of reducing the rate of kidnap by the use of drones. This innovation has helped to rescue innocent citizens who were in bondage.

In my opinion, technology has increased crime rate because it has provided sophisticated weapons which help to carry out this act. For example, there are now cars that are bullet proof and are being used by thieves for violent activities.

In conclusion, although technology encourages crime by providing sound innovations that aids theft, it has also lessened it's rate by the solutions it provides. However, I am of the opinion that it supports crime.